Leaving the Scene of an Accident

SMRL Law Firm serving Sarasota County, Bradenton, Lakewood Ranch, North Port, Venice, & throughout the state of Florida

In the State of Florida, each driver is under the obligation to provide their insurance and contact information when they are involved in an accident. Failure to do so can result in a criminal charge. Should there be an injury or death that results from the accident, and a driver flees from the area, that driver can be charged with a felony.

In each case where our client is charged with leaving the scene of an accident, there are many things that must be investigated and pursued on their behalf. A driver charged with misdemeanor leaving the scene of an accident can face up to 60 days in jail, 6 months of probation and a $500.00 fine. In addition, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will assess 6 points on the license of any person convicted of leaving the scene of an accident.

Call the Sarasota office of Syprett, Meshad, Resnick & Lieb today for an initial consultation: 941-365-7171.